The official race report service of Kawasaki Racing Team.


The FIM Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) started in 1988 at Donington Park in Great Britain and soon became established as the foremost production-derived race series on two wheels.

Kawasaki was an early winner in the riders’ title chase, thanks to American Scott Russell in 1993. Tom Sykes was the next Kawasaki champ in 2013 and six-times World Champion Jonathan Rea has dominated each season since 2015 to date, with the British riders competing victorious on their Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR machines.
Such has been the recent success of the Ninja model that Kawasaki has won the past six Riders’ and Manufacturers’ titles despite numerous changes to the technical regulations. Five Teams’ titles have also been gathered in the past six season by the official KRT squad.
The Ninja dynasty of machines had won 158 race victories up to the end of 2020, beginning with Adrien Morillas in the inaugural year of the series, 1988. Since then Doug Chandler, Rob Phillis, Aaron Slight, Scott Russell, Anthony Gobert, Akira Yanagawa, Hitoyasu Izutsu, Chris Walker, Tom Sykes, Loris Baz, Jonathan Rea, Toprak Razgatlioglu and most recently Alex Lowes have won WorldSBK races for Kawasaki.
Going into the 2021 season the podium-scoring total for Ninja pilots stands at 454 from 832 races started. Kawasaki has taken 92 pole positions in that time too.
Kawasaki has been an ever-present manufacturer in WorldSBK racing and from the earliest days to now and has fielded starters in more WorldSBK races than any other manufacturer.
In 2022 a total of four teams and five riders will use the latest Ninja ZX-10RR for what is expected to be a closely contested campaign, which forms the 35th FIM Superbike World Championship season.


The FIM Supersport World Championship (WorldSSP) became a full status FIM world title back in 1999, after two seasons as a World Series.

All the main Japanese manufacturers have won the title for themselves along the way. Kawasaki has earned the Manufacturers’ title three times in all.
In the Riders’ Championship Kawasaki competitors have scored top spot - in 2001 with Andrew Pitt before Kenan Sofuoglu won the title for Kawasaki in 2012, 2015 and most recently in 2016.
The first Kawasaki race win in the full FIM WorldSSP championship was the first race of the 1999 season itself, with British rider Iain Macpherson scoring full points at Kyalami in South Africa. Andrew Pitt, Fabien Foret, Joan Lascorz, Broc Parkes, Randy Krummenacher, Lucas Mahias and privateer Rafaelle de Rosa have also posted race wins on the middleweight Ninja. Kawasaki has now scored 45 individual race wins since 1999.
Kawasaki riders scored 14 podium places - including De Rosa’s famous final round race win - in the 2021 WorldSSP championship, which was the last in its long-standing format before a new era will be introduced in 2022.
A wide array of engine capacities and formats are now allowed in WorldSSP but all must remain largely as standard, with engine tuning, peak revs and other performance parameters tightly regulated and constantly reviewed. A proven winning package in WorldSSP the Ninja ZX-6R will be run by the long-standing Kawasaki Puccetti Racing team, with exciting new entries by the MTM Kawasaki and Prodina Racing teams. The latter two teams are moving up from the WorldSSP300 class, with exciting talents Adrian Huertas (the 2021 WorldSSP300 champion for Kawasaki) and Tom Booth-Amos joining the class.